A·Moms, The Algebra Mothers ‎– A-Moms = Algebra Mothers LP

Article number: TMR533

The Algebra Mothers/A-Moms were formed by four like-minded misfits/artists/musicians/friends (Gerald Collins, Ralph Valdez, Diana Balton and Kirsten Rogoff) from Detroit’s Cass Tech High School. They made their professional debut in 1977 and in 1979 they released the weirdly incredible Strawberry Cheesecake b/w Modern Noise 7” on their own Aftertaste Records (TMR re-issue imminent). They played around Detroit and the country with everyone from Destroy All Monsters and Sonic’s Rendezvous Band to Pere Ubu until 1984.

Several decades later, Third Man Records contacted head Mothers Gerald Collins (Jeecy and The Jungle) and Ralph Valdez (former WDET Disc Jockey) and discovered they were sitting on at least an album’s worth of home studio demos and live recordings.

Now we proudly present to you “A-Moms = Algebra Mothers” LP, 14 never before heard tracks recorded between 1977-1984 in various home studios and clubs. It will be their first release in nearly 40 years and only their second release ever.

Label: Third Man Records ‎– TMR533
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 21 Sep 2018
Genre: Rock
Style: Post-Punk, Punk


A1 Carsick
A2 In and Out of Order
A3 Seesaw
A4 Little Mathematica
A5 Goo Goo Eyes
A6 Ironhead
A7 Misfits
B1 Nuns in Chains
B2 As The World Turns
B3 Dance Damage
B4 Hollywood
B5 Chemical Tastes
B6 No For An Answer
B7 Swan Song

0 stars based on 0 reviews