Angel Olsen ‎– Burn Your Fire For No Witness LP

Article number: JAGJ52244.1
Quantity: 5

On her newest LP, Burn Your Fire for No Witness, Angel Olsen sings with full-throated exultation, admonition, and bold, expressive melody. With the help of producer John Congleton, her music now crackles with a churning, rumbling low end and a brighter energy. Angel Olsen began singing as a young girl in St. Louis. Her self-released debut EP, Strange Cacti, belied both that early period of discovery and her Midwestern roots. Olsen then went further on Half Way Home, her first full-length album (released on Bathetic Records), which mined essential themes while showcasing a more developed voice. Olsen dared to be more personal. After extensive touring, Olsen eventually settled for a time in Chicago’s Logan Square neighborhood, where she created "a collection of songs grown in a year of heartbreak, travel, and transformation," that would become Burn Your Fire For No Witness. Many of them remain essentially unchanged from their bare beginnings. In leaving them so intact, a more self-assured Olsen allows us to be in the room with her at the very genesis of these songs. Our reward for entering this room is many a head-turning moment and the powerful, unsettling recognition of ourselves in the weave of her songs.

Label: Jagjaguwar ‎– JAG244
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 18 Feb 2014
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk


A1 Unfucktheworld 2:05
A2 Forgiven/Forgotten 2:04
A3 Hi-Five 2:58
A4 White Fire 6:56
A5 High & Wild 3:53
A6 Lights Out 4:27
B1 Stars 4:38
B2 Iota 3:28
B3 Dance Slow Decades 4:06
B4 Enemy 5:44
B5 Windows 4:08

0 stars based on 0 reviews