Brendan Benson ‎– One Mississippi LP

Article number: TMR558
Quantity: 1

Years before “Detroit” was the first word on the lips of taste-fakers, hype-stokers, scene-stealers and fame-lords the world over, Brendan Benson’s sheep-in-wolves’ clothing debut album “One Mississippi” was the unassuming first shot fired from the city and players that would soon become feted beyond their wildest imagination.

From the gallant album-opener “Tea” (a song which particularly resonated with Japanese fans, of whom hundreds excitedly sent him fan mail containing tea bags) through the propulsive swell of “Sittin’ Pretty” and the undeniable “hit” of “Crosseyed” to the quirky “Insects Rule” (which was jammed on live by Foo Fighters?!?!?)…Benson’s craft is fully on display here. With half the songs here cowritten by the estimable Jason Falkner (Jellyfish, Beck), the end result is an unabashed pop album, accentuated by Brendan’s brilliant turn of phrase and preternatural ear for a melody. The album also stands out as the first full-length project helmed by venerated super-producer Ethan Johns (Paul McCartney, Kings of Leon) with “One Mississippi” serving as a unifying point in the careers of Johns, Benson and Falkner that found them all mutually ascendant.

Twenty-three years after its initial release, the Third Man Records reissue of “One Mississippi” is the FIRST-EVER vinyl pressing of this seminal album.

Label: Third Man Records ‎– TMR558
Format: Vinyl, LP, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 06 Dec 2019
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative Rock


A1 Tea
A2 Bird's Eye View
A3 Sittin' Pretty
A4 I'm Blessed
A5 Crosseyed
A6 Me Just Purely
A7 Got No Secrets
B1 How 'Bout You
B2 Emma J
B3 Insects Rule
B4 Maginary Girl
B5 House In Virginia
B6 Cherries

0 stars based on 0 reviews