CitiZen – As You Please LP bone and yellow vinyl


For their third album As You Please, Citizen is looking inward. Pairing up again with longtime producer Will Yip, the band presents twelve songs that fuse aspects of their entire catalog into one neoteric whole. While the cathartic melancholy of their debut Youth and the jarring intensity of 2015’s Everybody is Going to Heaven are both present, the most welcome addition to Citizen’s arsenal on As You Please is the range of auxiliary instrumentation and sonic experimentation on the album. This is most notable on “In the Middle of it All,” where vocalist Mat Kerekes is sampled singing the song title in a modulated, haunting chorus that echoes throughout the song. The addition of organs and unconventional drum effects on songs like “You Are A Star” and “Medicine” create shifting emphases on tension and frailty, while the huge choruses of songs like opener “Jet” and “I Forgive No One” are reminders that while Citizen dove headfirst into uncharted territory with their new album, the band is still as good as ever at writing emotionally-charged anthems. As You Please presents Citizen’s vision at the most focused it has ever been - it is delicately crafted to provoke at every moment.

Label: Run For Cover Records (2) ‎– RFC:162
Format: Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Reissue, Orange Bone Smash
Country: US
Released: 2019
Genre: Rock
Style: Emo, Punk


A1 Jet
A2 In The Middle Of It All
A3 As You Please
A4 Medicine
A5 Ugly Luck
A6 World
B1 Fever Days
B2 Control
B3 Discrete Routine
B4 I Forgive No One
B5 You Are A Star
B6 Flowerchild

0 stars based on 0 reviews