Stacey Pullen ‎– Detroit Love LP

Quantity: 1

Detroit Love present the inaugural release on their newly founded eponymous imprint -- a collaborative venture from Planet E and !K7 which aims to capture the essence of Carl Craig's superb event series of the same name. Detroit Love Vol. 1, mixed by Stacey Pullen, is a sixteen-track journey that exemplifies the diversity of the city, as well as the essence of the parties, championing both lesser known artists and familiar faces into a 74-minute mix. As a long-time resident of the party and native of the city itself, Stacey Pullen was the natural choice to launch the label. Since emerging as part of the "second wave" of Detroit techno, his heartfelt and unpredictable sets have sustained him a packed touring schedule the year round. With acclaimed mixes on Fabric (FABRIC 027CD, 2004), 20:20 Vision (2009), and Balance Music (BAL 016CD, 20015), his experimental mixing style and encyclopedic music knowledge cement his status as a true innovator in the scene. Combining artists new and old, local and international, the first mix of the series is a heady voyage into the Detroit spirit. Stacey adds: "I wanted to showcase the versatility of music from Detroit, whether it be a Detroit label or Detroit artist, the connection is there for you to grasp." His track selection predominantly represents Detroit, but also details its influence on European aesthetics, bridging the transatlantic gap. Firm favorites like Marcellus Pittman, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Delano Smith, Patrice Scott, DJ 3000, and Soulphiction all feature alongside local heroes like composer Craig Sherrad, Teknotica Records label boss Gary Martin, and Ataxia. Atmospheric groove-driven tracks like Philpot Records label boss Soulphiction's "Ann Arbor" and Craig Sherrad's "The Fader" are offset against organic, jazzy cuts like Marcellus Pittman's glistening take on Motor City Drum Ensemble's "Raw Cuts" and MOTUO's "Purple Pulse". Minimal entries like Sawlin's mind-altering "Wired Evening" on Delsin and Remote Viewing Party's "410" show the trippy side of the Detroit sound, with the mix ending on scene veteran Patrice Scott's aptly named "Detroit State Of Mind". Double LP version features: Gary Martin, Craig Sherrad, DJ 3000, Ken Young, Burning Bridges, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Marcellus Pittman, Remote Viewing Party, and Soulphiction.

Label: Planet E ‎– PEDL001LP, !K7 ‎– PEDL001LP
Series: Detroit Love –
Format: 2 × Vinyl, 12", Compilation
Country: Europe
Released: 18 May 2018
Genre: Electronic
Style: House, Techno


A1 –Gary Martin We Get Down (12inch Mix) 6:21
A2 –Craig Sherrad The Fader 5:44
B1 –DJ 3000 Delray (Original Mix) 5:32
B2 –Ken Young (7) Horney Chords 7:26
C1 –Burning Bridges (4) Low Down (Original Mix) 6:16
C2 –Motor City Drum Ensemble Raw Cuts (Marcellus Pittman Remix) 7:31
D1 –Remote Viewing Party 410 5:49
D2 –Soulphiction Ann Arbor (Original Mix) 5:40

0 stars based on 0 reviews